This weeks YA Highway road trip asks:

What book is your ‘one that got away?’ (What book have you always been dying to
read but still haven’t yet?)

For so long, I’ve focused on reading in the genre I write, contemporary YA, that I only recently started expanding my book options. Since then I’ve read, among others:

  • The Great Gatsby
  • The Blessings of the Animals by Katrina Kittle
  • The Joy Luck Club
  • Graceling
  • Code Name Verity

 

So, what incredibly famous young adult book series have I not read?

Harry Potter

It’s not for lack of praise I’ve heard about it. I just didn’t grow up with it and haven’t gotten around to it yet. Not having read them during childhood, it would be interesting to see if I’d really get into them the way others have, or if I would only ever be able to read them as the outsider in an international cult following.

What about you? Is there a book, movie, TV series that you have always viewed as an outsider? Have you ever looked at your friends strangely as they have long hypothetical conversations about fictional people you have never heard of before?

 

