It’s Wednesday again, which means time for another YA Highway Roadtrip. This week’s question:

Amy Tintera’s REBOOT, the main character has died and been reborn as a
robot-like soldier. If you were reborn faster, stronger, and quicker healing,
what’s the first thing you’d do?

 

I’ve always felt very responsible for the gifts I’ve been given. Of course, none of my gifts have yet required me to sacrifice my personal well-being or possibly my life. If I had superhuman abilities, though, I’m sure they’d require me to do just that.

Superheroes face a lot of pressure when it comes to saving the world. It seems to go without saying, but the movies make us forget how terrifying and potentially life-wrecking violence can be. The most amazing thing is that so many people face life-threatening situations every day, without the aid of superpowers, in order to protect others (police officers, fire fighters, doctors).

Stories can teach us how to be braver than we are. They give us role models for how to face danger in our lives. But let’s not forget that for every superhero, there’s thousands of real life examples of courage.

