I just got back from the Antioch Writers’ Workshop in Yellow Springs, Ohio, and I can’t say enough how much I enjoyed the week of reading, writing, and good conversation. This was my second year at AWW, but my first in the adult program. Last year I had the pleasure of being in a group with twelve other high schoolers in the Young Writers Program, led by YA author Trudy Krisher.

This year, as I joined in faculty lunches, agent pitch sessions, and an adult critique group led by Sherri Wood Emmons, fellow participants kept asking me what I found different about the adult program.

“Not much,” I’d answer, and it’s true. The conference this year was as wonderful as it was last year. I still got wonderful critiques, still got to chat with faculty over local cuisine, even got to share my work in front of fellow participants at the Thursday evening readings. I love that, with AWW, we can all be writers together, regardless of age or experience level.

I came away from this conference with two signed books, an agent request, half a bag of pretzels, and a boatload of snail jokes. I also came home with new friends, new ideas, and the energy to keep writing (after a good nights’ sleep).

When I look back on last year and realize how much I’ve learned, I can’t wait to see what the next year will bring.

