…I didn’t finish a book in July. Not a single one. But I did start several excellent works, including:

The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri

White Noise by Don Delillo (both of these for an English Class this fall)

The Weight of Small Things by Sherri Wood Emmons.

I bought The Weight of Small Things at the Antioch Writers’ Workshop, where I had the pleasure of meeting Sherri Wood Emmons as my afternoon workshop leader. I blame the workshop for my lack of reading in July, though it was an awesome experience and well worth it.

 

Photo: Spoils from the Writers’ conference.

In addition to published books, I’m also reading my way through several manuscripts from critique partners. In August, maybe I’ll have something to show for all my reading. In the meantime, here’s a list of some of my favorite YA books:

What we Lost by Sara Zarr

Uncommon Faith by Trudy Krisher

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Read these. Read all of them, and then tell me what you think. I’d love to discuss them.

