I’m so excited for this weeks YA Highway Roadtrip Wednesday question, even though it’s not strictly book related:

     “If you could be any kind of animal, what would it be?”

     Not only is my current project a YA contemporary about sea turtles and other marine animals, but one of my characters asks this exact question.

     Now, much as I loved researching about sea turtles for this project, I wouldn’t want to be one. They’re lives are incredibly difficult, and they face increasing risks in today’s oceans.

      If I were an animal, I’d want to be an equine therapy horse (another concept I’d love to turn into a YA novel. Hmmm…) In equine therapy, therapists help people and children with mental and emotional issues, especially trust issues, learn to ride horses as a way to heal. If that’s not a powerful animal/person story, I don’t know what is.

     I only hope in my life to help as many people as an equine therapy horse.

