Welcome to our 204th Road Trip Wednesday!
Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic. We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic: It’s November! Are you participating in NaNoWriMo this year? If so, what’s your project about?

Confession: I’ve never done NaNoWriMo before.

In fact, I’m technically not doing a full NaNo this year, as I was already halfway through my current WIP on October 31st. It seems like every year I’m already so deep into a project that it doesn’t make sense to start something completely new.

That being said, I’m giving it a try this year with a half-NaNo, which is pretty much me writing my current WIP as quickly as I can. It’s a YA contemporary with some slightly nonrealistic elements thrown in (think If I Stay by Gayle Foreman). It combines one-armed rock climbers, miraculous springs, the ghosts of dying girls, and romance in a story of trust and healing.

I’m hoping NaNo will help me turn off my analytic, literal mind in order to write about things I don’t understand and characters that may or may not exist. I recently read an interview with Aimee Bender in which she describes doing just that while writing The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cakes.

So, with a world of magic realism and not-quite-realistic fiction as my guide, I’m participating in my very first half-NaNo ever!

